Friday, July 13, 2012

Rolling Stones Gather at Site of First Gig.

From Rolling
In honor of their 50th anniversary, the Rolling Stones returned to the site of their first gig, London's Marquee Club on Oxford Street, for a group photograph on Wednesday.
According to the same article,The band debuted as the Rollin' Stones at the Marquee Club on July 12th, 1962. The lineup was Mick Jagger (vocals), Brian Jones (guitar), Keith Richards (guitar), Ian Stewart (piano), Dick Taylor (bass) and Tony Chapman (drums.)

Only 2 of the original 6 made it.

Those six aren't the originals that we old timers remember. That group consisted of Jagger, Richards, Jones, along with Charlie Watts and Bill Wyman. As their current drummer, Watts made the get together. Bill Wyman left the group years ago. I guess he wasn't invited to the anniversary since he wasn't a Stone until after their first gig.

"The Stones always really considered 1963 to be 50 years, because Charlie [Watts] didn't actually join until January," Keith Richards told Rolling Stone earlier this year. "We look upon 2012 as sort of the year of conception, but the birth is next year."

The following video comes from 1964, performing a Buddy Holly tune.

No comments: